There are definite health benefits to being a pescy eater. I’ve never had this much energy. If I really wanted to (and I don’t), I could skip my morning cup of coffee. Also, certain activities happen like clockwork – at least twice a day! But I’m only three weeks in and the majority of the health benefits have yet to make their appearance.

The bad and the ugly… they reared their heads right away! It’s interesting how few people discuss what happens to a person’s body when she transitions from a conventional American diet to pescy eating. Gas. Horrible, unidentified leftover object in the back of the fridge that you’re scared to take the lid off gas. Something is rotting in my stomach and gasping its last breath gas. So horrible that even the dog runs away from you gas. I believe that I have adequately described the sulfurous pungency of my emissions. You get the picture. Luckily, this obnoxious side effect passed (forgive the pun) after a week or I may soon have been served divorce papers.

I don’t know why I feel the need to describe this side effect. Maybe because I spent the entire week wishing someone had warned me beforehand. I might have at least purchased some Beano! Perhaps all the long-term vegans and pescetarians have forgotten about the transitional phase. It’s challenging, to say the least. Meals come around and it feels a bit like swimming upstream. Away from the comfortable and familiar. I’m learning a new way of eating. A new way of making decisions. A new way of shopping. A new way of relating to others about food. A new way of relating to myself about food. It’s all new. It’s all uncomfortable. It’s all a challenge.

I’m hanging in. I don’t want to have a heart attack or stroke before I leave my forties. Or cancer before I leave my fifties. I want to live well. I want to move freely, without pain. I want to, just once, look in the mirror and think to myself, “You look so healthy!” I know, the journey of a thousand miles and all…

I do know that I will look in the mirror today and think to myself, “You will do this and you will thank yourself!”

Leave a Reply

